Homework for Real Analysis I

Back to course page



due Thursday, Dec. 5:
        Wade 4.2.3, 4.2.8; 4.3.0ab, 4.3.1ad, 4.3.2, 4.3.4

No homework over break; but I suggest you start reviewing for the final, in bits.

due Tuesday, Nov. 26:
        Wade 4.1.4, 4.2.0, 4.2.1, 4.2.2, 4.2.5

due Thursday, Nov. 21:
        Wade 4.1.0, 4.1.1b, 4.1.6
        make sure you understand what you missed on the exam.

No homework for Tuesday.  Study, sleep, all that good stuff.

due Tuesday, Nov. 12:
        Wade 3.3.0abd, 3.3.3, 3.3.6, 3.3.10,
        read Wade 3.4 esp. Thms 3.39, 3.40
        Wade 3.4.0b, 3.4.1b

due Thursday, Nov. 7:
   
due Tuesday, Nov. 5:       
   
due Thursday, Oct. 31:
        Wade 3.2.0abc, 3.2.1de
        read the start of 3.3, p83-85 (up to and including proof of Thm 3.24 at top of page)

due Tuesday, Oct. 29:
        Wade 3.1.0ab, 3.1.2ab, 3.1.4, 3.1.6  (for these, you can use results from the section (e.g. limit laws, etc.))
        read 3.2.  Make sure you know the definitions for one-sided limits and limits at infinity.
        Wade 3.2.1abc

due Thursday, Oct. 24:
        Redo exam problems you missed.  Give me new and different counterexamples.
        Wade 3.1.0cd, 3.1.1acd, 3.1.3ab (for this one you can use limit laws from the section, but cite your steps)
        Consider giving yourself 15-minute moments of nothingness.

Exam on Thursday, Oct. 17.  No new assignment; look over the review sheet, old quizzes and old homeworks. 
(And don't just look them over, but see if you can do them again without looking at your old solutions.)
And sleep! Lots!

due Thursday, Oct. 10:
      
due Tuesday, Oct. 8:
       
due Thursday, Oct. 3:
        read Wade 2.2 def 2.14 and Thm 2.15 (& proof)
        do: 2.2.0abc, 2.2.1b, 2.2.2b, 2.2.6

due Tuesday, Oct. 1:
        Wade 2.1.0a (prove it); 2.1.1c, 2.1.2c, 2.1.4, 2.1.6, 2.1.7
        2.2.1a, 2.2.2a (for which you'll need to read a definition)

due Thursday, Sept. 25:
        read Wade 2.1, do:
        Wade 2.1.0: decide if T/F, but only have to give counterexamples for false ones; we'll leave the proofs of true ones til next time.
        Wade 2.1.1bd, 2.1.2ab, 2.1.3a

No homework for Thursday.  Study for the exam.  Make sure you get plenty of sleep the night before.

due Tuesday, Sept. 17:
           
                I would also like you to send me two problems you think should go on the exam.  Please send them by Friday night.


due Thursday, Sept. 12:
          Wade 1.3.0c (you will want to modify what we did for 1.3.0b), 1.3.3, 1.5.0, 1.5.2abc, 1.5.3abc
due Tuesday, Sept. 10:
           
due Thursday, Sept. 5:
           

due Tuesday, Sept. 3:
        hmkw 1